Regular session of the Board of County Commissioners for the County of St. Joseph, State of Michigan, was held in the Commission Chambers on January 2, 2024, at 5 pm.

Chief Deputy County Clerk Dena Clark called the meeting to order.

The invocation was given by Commissioner Shaffer.

Chief Deputy County Clerk Clark called the roll, and the following commissioners were present.

Rusty Baker Ken Malone
Terrance Conklin Luis Rosado
Jared Hoffmaster Rick Shaffer

Also present: Teresa Doehring, County Administrator; Angie Steinman, Finance Director

Election of Chair

Chair Clark stated that nominations were in order for chair.

Commissioner Shaffer nominated Commissioner Malone.

It was moved by Commissioner Shaffer and seconded by Commissioner Hoffmaster that the nomination be closed, and a unanimous ballot cast for Commissioner Malone for Chair. Motion carried.

Election of Vice-chair

Commissioner Shaffer nominated Commissioner Hoffmaster as vice-chair.

It was moved by Commissioner Shaffer and seconded by Commissioner Baker that Commissioner Hoffmaster be appointed as vice-chair. Motion carried.

Agenda

It was moved by Commissioner Baker and seconded by Commissioner Rosado to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried.

Minutes

It was moved by Commissioner Shaffer and seconded by Commissioner Hoffmaster to approve the minutes of December 19, 2023. Motion carried.

Public Comment

No Public Comment

County Administrator's Report

Ms. Doehring had nothing further to report.

Board Meeting Dates for 2024

It was moved by Commissioner Hoffmaster and seconded by Commissioner Baker to approve the commission meeting schedule as presented. Motion carried.

Executive Meeting Dates for 2024

It was moved by Commissioner Shaffer and seconded by Commissioner Conklin to hold executive meetings the second Tuesday of the month at 4 pm. Motion carried.

Commissioner Comments

Commissioner Shaffer congratulated Chair Malone.

Commissioner Hoffmaster thanked Chair Malone for his leadership.

Commissioner Malone wished everyone a happy New Year and thanked the board for their confidence.

Adjournment

It was moved by Commissioner Shaffer and seconded by Commissioner Hoffmaster to adjourn the meeting at $5:06\ pm$. Motion carried.

Dena Clark, Chief Deputy County Clerk